UL GAA honours current and former Tipperary All-Ireland winning students

Sports Reporter


Sports Reporter



UL GAA honours current and former Tipperary All-Ireland winning students

Siobhan Condon, Maria Curley, Emma Buckley, Roisin Howard and Aisling McCarthy pictured at a University of Limerick ceremony on November 28th.

On November 28 the past and present University of Limerick GAA community came together at the Castletroy Park Hotel to recognise twenty-two students and graduates who won All-Ireland medals in 2017 - among those being honoured were four members of the Galway panel who captured Liam MacCarthy in September, nine Limerick under-21 hurlers and five players from the winning Tipperary intermediate ladies Gaelic football team.

Speaking at the inaugural event University of Limerick President Dr Des Fitzgerald said that the recipients were “shining examples of what we are trying to achieve”. He commended the GAA club for their hard work in becoming one of the top clubs in the country.

Head of Sport at UL Dave Mahedy said: “The GAA is the top club in UL. Four out of the last five All- Ireland winning captains are graduates of UL”.

Third year Physiotherapy student Aisling McCarthy (Cahir) is a dual star with UL and was a key member of the Tipperary intermediate ladies football team which won the All-Ireland title this year. Aisling was also named the TG4 Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year.

“UL GAA is getting stronger and it’s very special to be recognised here tonight along with some greats. The success that we had last year winning the Ashbourne and O’Connor Cup and the success a lot of us have had with Tipperary will give us great confidence going into the season ahead. I’ve never been involved in a setup that’s been so professional as there is in the UL GAA club and the standards that we set is something I’ve never come across before and it’s a testament to the people involved and the ethos they try to foster,” Aisling McCarthy said.

Tipperary recipients: Siobhan Condon (graduate, Physiotherapy), Maria Curley (fourth year, Sport & Exercise Science), Aisling McCarthy (third year, Physiotherapy), Emma Buckley (fourth year, Sport & Exercise Science) and Roisin Howard (second year, arts - joint honours).