MId Tipp GAA: Holycross Ballycahill and Moycarkey Borris claim the u-21 A and B hurling titles

Noel Dundon


Noel Dundon



Jack Skehan

Holycross Ballycahill three goal hero Jack Skehan in action in the mid final.

Three goals from Jack Skehan helps Holycross Ballycahill to title, while Anthony McKelvey steers Moycarkey Borris over the line. 

Holycross Ballycahill 4-15 Drom-Inch 0-14

Three goals from midfielder Jack Skehan helped Holycross Ballycahill to their first mid Tipp u-21 A hurling title in 21 years when they gunned down Drom-Inch at Boherlahan this afternoon.

Skehans opening goal in the 8th minute left his side a point down, but he goalled again in the 19th minute to give his team a 2-4 to 0-5 advantage despite playing against a stiff breeze. By the break, the lead stood at 2-7 to 0-10 and Drom-Inch really needed to find another gear if they were to make an impact - Skehan, Bryan O'Mara, Darragh Woods and Conor Ryan playing particularly well for the eventual victors.

Stephen Flanagan had a third Holycross Ballycahill goal in the 10th minute of the second half and when Skehan grabbed his third green flag two minutes later, it was game, set and match to the champions.

 In the Horse and Jockey Kia B final earlier on at The Ragg, Moycarkey Borris staved off a late rally from JK Brackens to secure a 0-16 to 0-13 victory.

Action from the U-21 B final in The Ragg.

Anthony McKelvey was the hero for the champs as he claimed 0-10 to their total, including five of their seven first half points as they held a slender 0-7 to 0-6 interval lead. Having played with the breeze in the first half, one wondered if this would be enough to see them home, but they upped the ante considerably in the second half and Brackens had few answers, until it was almost too late.

Although they scored five of the last eight scores of the game, Brackens were always chasing it in the second half having fallen five points in arrears. They did manage to get it back to three points on two occasions, but Moycarkey Borris held tough and got vital scores to land the title eventhough they had to wait for it, with some seven minutes of additional times played.