Rural Rambles - Beauty And Dignitaries Galore At Tipp Peace Awards

Noted Beauty Queens, members of the Diplomatic Corps, Clergy and politicians of local and national renown, and a host of other interesting guests attended the 2011 International Peace Awards Dinner of Tipperary Peace Convention in Ballykisteen Hotel, Tipperary Town, last week.

Noted Beauty Queens, members of the Diplomatic Corps, Clergy and politicians of local and national renown, and a host of other interesting guests attended the 2011 International Peace Awards Dinner of Tipperary Peace Convention in Ballykisteen Hotel, Tipperary Town, last week.

The Queens were Diana Buckley, the reigning “Pride Of Tipperary“ and Esme Mansergh Wallace, the reigning Miss Sunday World.

The Diplomatic Corps included His Excellency Mr. Robert Devriese (Belgium); His Excellency Mr. Loyola Hearn (Canada); His Excellency Dr. Michalis Stavrinos (Republic of Cyprus); Her Excellency Mrs. Lela-alem Gebreyohannes Tedla (Federal Democratic Republic of Ethopia); His Excellency Dr. Eckhard Lübkemeier (Federal Republic of Germany); His Excellency Dr. Tamás Magyarics (Republic of Hungary); Her Excellency Ms. Catherine Muigai Mwangi (Republic of Kenya); His Excellency Mr. Pēteris Kārlis Elferts (Republic of Latvia); His Excellency Mr. Paramente Phamotse (Kingdom of Lesotho); His Excellency Mr. Felix Yusufu Pwol (Federal Republic of Nigeria); His Excellency Mr. Dominick John Chilcott (United Kingdom) ; Ms. Hjayceelyn Quintana, (Minister and Chargée d‟Affaires at the Embassy of the Republic of the Philippines)

First Citizens included Cllr. Ruaidhri Devitt, Mayor of Tipperary; Cllr. John Crosse, Cathaoirleach, South Tipperary County Council. Oireachtas and Assembly Members and Party Representatives included Alan Kelly, T.D., Minister of State at the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport; Tom Hayes, T.D; Seamus Healy, T.D.; Senator Denis Landy; Senator Labhras O’ Murchu; Mr. Seán Rogers, SDLP MLA for South Down; Eamon Ryan, Leader of the Green Party; Dr. Martin Mansergh, former T.D. and Minister of State.

Members of the Security Forces present included Lieutenant General Seán McCann, Chief of Staff of the Defence Forces who informed us that he was educated in Thurles and Roscrea; Chief Superintendent Kevin Dunwoody, PSNI; Chief Superintendent Catherine Kehoe, An Garda Siochána; Superintendent Patrick Dunne, An Garda Siochána; Lieutenant Commander Roberta O’Brien, The Naval Service.

Church dignitaries included His Grace, Most Rev. Dermot Clifford, Archbishop of Cashel and Emly; The Right Reverend Bishop Michael Burrows, Bishop of Cashel and Ossory; Rev. Ken Lindsay, President of the Methodist Church in Ireland; Rev. John Faris, Presbyterian Church; Archdeacon Matthew McGrath, P.P., Tipperary Parish; Very Rev Dean Philip Knowles, Dean of Cashel; Fr. Gerry Reynolds CSSR., Clonard Monastery, Belfast, Sunday World columnist, Fr. Brian D’Arcy, St. Gabriel’s Retreat, The Graan, Enniskillen.

North/South Ministerial Council folks present were Mr. Pat Donaghy, Deputy Joint Secretary (North), North South Ministerial Council; Mr. Sean Howlett, representing Acting Joint Secretary (South), North /South Ministerial Council.

Also there were Mr Peter Osborne, Chair of the NI Parades Commission; Ms. Claire Curley, Town Manager, Tipperary Town, South Tipperary County Council; Mr. Paul Murray, Town Clerk, Tipperary Town Council. Northern Ireland Community Representatives included Mr. Ian Bothwell, MBE, Crossfire Trust, Keady, Armagh; Mrs. Pauline Bothwell, Crossfire Trust; Mr. Michael Doherty, Peace and Reconciliation Group, Derry; Mrs. Rosemary Doherty, Peace and Reconciliation Group, Derry; Rev. David J Kerr, MBE, East Belfast Mission; Mrs. Eileen Kerr, East Belfast Mission

Mr. Justice Nicholas Kearns, President of the High Court, was also there. There, too, were Mr. Peter Power, Executive Director UNICEF; Thurles native Ms Christine Coman, Irish Lebanese Cultural Foundation; Mrs. Alice Leahy, TRUST; Mr. Peter Byrne, Company National President O.N.E.; Col. Harvey Bicker, OBE, The Military Heritage of Ireland Trust; Sr. Stanislaus Kennedy, Focus Ireland; Ms. Rachel Collier, Young Social Innovators; Mr. Michael Sweeney, Muintir na Tíre; Professor Riad Nourallah, Diplomatic Academy of London, University of Westminster; Ms. Anastasia Crickley, Head of Applied Social Studies at NUI Maynooth; Professor Joan Dargan, St. Lawrence University, Canton, NY; Dr. Michael Casey, Government of Ireland Post-Doctoral Fellow; Ms. Isobel Cambie, South Tipperary Development Company; Cllr. Liam Ahearne, South Tipperary Development Company.

Goodwill Ambassador was Mr Khalil Abboud, Lebanon; International Delegates included Dr Maria El Khoury, Lebanon; Ms Rita Sfeir, Ayadina Foundation; Ms Clara Khoury, Generis Cultural Foundation.

Also there were Mr. John Wort, Durlas Eile Eliogarty Memorial Committee; Mr. Andy Lacey, Tipperary Excel; Mr. Roy Galvin, Glen of Aherlow Fáilte Society; Ms. Jennifer Coleman, Canon Hayes Recreation Centre; Mrs. Betty Lynch, Tipperary Singers, who sang “It’s A Long way To Tipperary“ and “Danny Boy” on the arrival of former President Mary McAleese and Senator Martin McAleese to receive the 2011 Tipperary International Peace award. Ms. Libby Carew-Eicholz, West Tipperary Mental Health Association; Mr. Tim Ryan, TIRD/Chamber of Commerce; Mr. Matthew Quinlan, Tipperary Co-operative Creamery.

The Peace Forum Speakers were Baroness Nuala O’Loan, former Police Ombudsman of NI; Mr. Roy Garland, Columnist and Member of the U.U.P; Senator Trevor O’Clochartaigh, Sinn Féin. Also there were numerous members of the local and national Press, including popular, ”Tipperary Star” Staff Reporter, Eoin Kelleher and RTE’s Cathy O’ Halloran.

The attendance also included Ms. Liz Howard, Youghalarra, former President of the Camogie Association; Michael ”Babs” Keating, former Tipperary GAA Player and Tipp Senior Hurling team Manager, Local Authority delegates, Song of Peace Finalists from Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, England and the U.S.A.

Local lady, Caitriona Kenny, won the best Irish Entry in this contest with her song, ”Peace Be With Me” and was presented with the Mick Tuohy Perpetual Cup and Tipperary Crystal Trophy.

Her entry was sung by local singer, Marji Maxwell. Also there were School Project Winners from Thurles C.B.S., Cashel Community School and St. Anne’s Secondary School, Tipperary. We met also Anne Crowe, Tipperary Town and Donnchadh O Cinneide, Cashel, of Comhaltas Ceoltoiri Eireann, who assure us the Summer Seisiun series is underway in Bru Boru in Cashel and proving to be as successful as ever. Also met North Tipperary County Councillor, Jim Ryan, of Thurles and the Tipperary Peace Convention committee members, Joe Quinn(Chairman), Martin Quinn, (Secretary), Caroline Brahan, Mary Swords, Guy Jones and John Shanahan.

Pictured at the presentation of the 2011 Tipperary International Peace Award former President of Ireland, Mary McAleese and her husband, Senator Martin McAleese at Ballykisteen Hotel,