Roscrea People of the Year 2015

Awards Night

Roscrea People of the Year 2015

The 29th Annual Awards organised by Roscrea People, 1987-2015 will take place this Friday, January 15, in the Racket Hall Hotel.

The main sponsors of the event are Bernies SuperValu with Associate Sponsors including Roscrea Heritage Society; Rocktop Asset Management Company; and Roscrea Credit Union. Admission on the evening is by voluntary donation proceeds’ of which will be used to support book projects for St Cronan’s Services and other local institutions. The evening will commence at 7.30pm with a performance from Roscrea Junior Comhaltas.

This will be followed by an illustrated look and presentation of Roscrea 2015 which will be presented by George Cunningham.

After the raffle part two of the night will commence at 9pm with Roscrea People book presentations to St Cronan’s Centre/Services, Grange, Roscrea Public Library, Roscrea People Pilot Book Project for Roscrea Estate including a presentation to Kennedy Park/Brophy Tce/Cois Carraig and a presentation to Gleann Glas. The 29th Roscrea People Awards will commence at approximately 9.30pm. This year awards will be presented to Assumption Park Residents for their great work which is led by PJ Wright and Eamon Morrissey. Nevin Alton the founder of Roscrea Citizen’s Information Centre and voluntary worker for over 50 years with Roscrea Church Of Ireland will receive an award.

Recently retired GP, Dr George McManus will receive an award for his caring service which lasted for over forty years in Roscrea.

The Dooley family from Neilstown will receive the Roscrea Heritage Award while Michael Ryan, known far and wide for his whistling will also receive an award. Del O’Reilly who has represented Roscrea Musical society for so many years staring in fifty-five shows will receive an award as will Eoghan Fogarty, Irish Touring Car Champion in 2015. Roscrea Cistercian College will receive an award after a great year of sporting success aided by three local youths namely Simon Meagher, Alan Tynan and Kyle Cahir. This year two Roscrea Entrepreneurs Awards will be presented. Fabien Preyaud from FRS will receive an award for “Herdwatch”. The software has received numerous awards over the past year. James McManus will receive an award for establishing his adventure travel company called Earth’s Edge. This Year’s Roscrea People Of The Year Award Citation will go to Darragh Carey Kennedy for his success in the 15-18 age group of the All-Ireland Fleadh Cheoil.

The awards are always a great occasion and a celebration of the many aspects of our local community. Your support would be very much appreciated.

The programme of events is as follows: Part 1)

7.30pm Ceol le Junior Comhaltas CCÉ Ros Cré

8.05pm Roscrea People, Places and Pieces, an illustrated look at 2015 and some past events, hosted by George Cunningham

8.45pm Raffle

Part 2)

9.05pm Roscrea People book presentations to

a) St Cronan’s Centre/Services, Grange

b) Roscrea Public Library

c) Roscrea People Pilot Book Project for Roscrea Estates

i) presentation to Kennedy Park/Brophy Tce/Cois Carraig

ii) presentation to Gleann Glas.

9.35pm 29th Roscrea People of the Year Awards

10.45pm Light Supper