New defibrilator (AED) for Rahealty


New defibrilator (AED) for Rahealty

Rahealty community and primary school would like to promote our new defibrillator (AED) which was very generously donated to us by Martin Heffernan on behalf of the Mark Heffernan Trust.

The committee of the Rahealty Heartsave Group believe that Defibrillators are an essential piece of equipment in any community.

Approximately every week in Ireland a young person dies from an undiagnosed heart condition.

The term SAD (sudden arrhythmic death syndrome) is used where no abnormality can be identified to explain the specific cause of death.

We have received a fantastic response from the locality to this newly formed group and the large numbers of people who have turned out for training on this equipment is testament to the importance of this project.

At the moment we are setting up a responder data base where we will have qualified people on call to respond to an emergency should the need arise.

All members are registered with the Irish Heart Foundation.

The aim of the committee is to provide two more defibrillators in the locality and to become a mostly self sufficient group whereby we can train and certify our own first responders.

We also need to fund the on going maintenance cost of equipment as well as communications for the ‘on-call’ roster.

The defibrillator is located on the front wall of the community centre.

As with all new projects funding is essential. Any voluntary contributions no matter how small to get this project off the ground would be gratefully received.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who helped us with our enquiries in how best to set up this project.

In particular we would like to thank the Moyne Templetouhy defibrillator group whose help was critical to us in getting this project off the ground.

We are indebted to the Mark Heffernan Trust for supplying us with this defibrillator and for the invaluable help given to us by Noel Coonans office Templemore.

This is a long term project and for anyone who needs further information contact:

Noreen Dwyer chairperson, Brian O’Gorman secretary, Lisa Maher treasurer, Mary O’Dwyer, Philip Cussen or Con Moloney.