Hayes welcomes €36m announced for school improvement

Fine Gael TD, Tom Hayes
386 school projects will be included in the first round of successful applicants

386 school projects will be included in the first round of successful applicants

Tipperary Minister of State Tom Hayes has welcomed todays announcement from Minister for Education and Skills, Ruairí Quinn that 386 schools across every county in Ireland will be able to undertake school improvements this summer.

Almost €36 million is being provided by the Department of Education and Skills under the first round of funding for the Summer Works Scheme 2014.

The successful schools will receive money to improve and upgrade existing school buildings. This first round of funding will allow schools to carry out small and medium scale building works across three categories of projects - Gas, Electrical & Mechanical.

A second round of the scheme is expected to be announced in coming weeks. This round will cover other types of improvement works, with applications still being assessed. In Tipperary, 25 projects have been announced which will benefit 4,831 students. Welcoming the news, Minister of State Hayes says it is welcome news for Tipperary schools and students. He said, “Today’s announcement is part of this Government’s continued commitment to improve facilities in schools throughout the country.

“These works will be carried out in schools over the summer months, when the pupils are on holidays, so the disruption to schooling will be kept to a minimum.

“These projects will stimulate economic activity by supporting 2,160 direct and 430 indirect construction jobs in the local economy,”

Schools can access further details and instructions on how to proceed on-line using the Esinet Portal. This year, almost €470 million will be invested in school building infrastructure under the school building and modernisation programme.

The list of Tipperary schools is as follows:

St Johns Roscrea NS,

Convent Of Mercy Newport,

Moyglass N S Moyglass, Fethard,

New Inn B N S Cashel, Co Tipperary

Rosegreen N S Cnocan An Teampail, Rosegreen, Cashel

Clonmore N S Templemore,

St Marys N S Nenagh,

St Marys Convent Nenagh,

Scoil Na Mbraithre Nenagh,

S N An Ghabhailin Cashel,

S N Flannain Naofa Rath Chobain, Roscre, Co Tiobrad Arann

S N Gort Na Huaighe Thurles,

Scoil Ailbhe Thurles, Co Tipperary 17634M Mechanical 200

School Powerstown N S Clonmel,

S N Na Mbuachailli Tulach Seasta, Newport,

S N Buirgheas Nenagh,

Cloughjordan No 1 N S Templemore Road, Cloughjordan,

St John The Baptist Old Road, Cashel,

Cashel Deanery Cashel,

School Gaelscoil Thiobraid Arann Morgaiste, Baile Thiobraid Arann,

St John The Baptist Boys School Cashel.

Post Primary:

School Patrician Presentation Rocklow Rd., Fethard,

School St. Joseph’S C.B.S Summerhill, Nenagh,

Borrisokane Community College Borrisokane,

Central Technical Institute Clonmel.