A comprehensive U21 win for Annacarty

Ollies Bar New Inn West Tipperary Under-21B Hurling Final

Ollies Bar New Inn West Tipperary

Under-21B Hurling Final

Eire Og Annacarty 2-19

Cappwhite 0-11

Eire Óg are champions of the Ollies Bar New Inn under-21 B championship following their comprehensive victory over Cappawhite/Solohead in a testy, one-sided game at Dundrum on Sunday afternoon.

The winners, powered by four players who had played at senior championship level during the summer, were much too strong and accomplished for the opposition, who played the first quarter without their best player, Russell Quirke, and had the misfortune to have another of their better forwards, injured during the opening period.

The signs were ominous for Cappawhite/Solohead from an early stage when Eire Óg were able to pick off points at ease from play while they had to make do with frees to register on the scoreboard. They also had to endure a misfortunate blow in the twenty-second minute when, having put a few scores together, a free from Darragh Mooney went through the fingers of their goalkeeper for a goal and undo all the good work.

Eire Óg led by 1-13 to 0-6 at half-time and were already bookies certainties.

The second half changed nothing. Eire Óg didn’t score as prolifically but they confined Cappawhite/Solohead to five points and won comfortably by 2-19 to 0-11, a one-sided encounter that did neither side any good. The winners scrambled their second goal in the opening minute of the second-half and that was the end of the affair.

Eire Óg had fine displays from Seanie Ryan, Daragh Mooney, Donal O’Dwyer, Dinny Crosse, Eoin Bradshaw and Tom Fox, while Cappawhite/Solohead were best served by Sean Ryan (W), Eoin Riordan, Russell Quirke and Daragh Barry, until injiury curtailed his contribution.

Following the victory the Bill Hayes cup was presented to winning captain, Daragh Mooney, by board chairman, Tom English.

Eire Óg: Jamie English, Jamie O’Dwyer, Cathal Coughlan, Gearóid Loughman, John Ryan, Tom Fox, David Breen, Donal O’Dwyer (0-2), Eoin Bradshaw (0-2), Dinny Crosse (0-3), Darragh Mooney (1-8), (capt.), Seanie Ryan (0-3), Sean Breen, Peter O’Dwyer, Cathal Ryan (1-0). Subs: Michael Bradshaw (0-1) for Cathal Ryan, Evan Heffernan for Peter O’Dwyer, Christopher Breen for David Breen.

Cappawhite/Solohead: David Orr, Joey Riordan, Sean Eyan (W), Eanna Heffernan, Pat Stapleton (capt.), Donal O’Neill, David Stapleton, Eoin Riordan, Eimhin O’Meara, Darragh Barry (0-4), Joe Ryan (P), (0-1), Michael Leahy, Brian Carew, Kevin Stapleton, Christopher Ryan (S). Subs: Russell Quirke (0-6) for Eimhin O’Meara, Fergal Ryan for Michael Leahy, Paul Ryan for Darragh Barry, James Ryan (D) for Brian Carew, Liam McCarthy for Eoin Riordan.

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Dundrum).