Four titles in a row for Clonakenny

Roadstone Wood Mid IHF clonakenny 1-13 Moyne Templetuohy 0-11

Roadstone Wood Mid IHF clonakenny 1-13 Moyne Templetuohy 0-11

A highly competitive outing with neither side giving an inch, this was hard tough, uncompromising fare with scores at a premium throughout.

And, while the standard might not have been from the top drawer, there was still enough in this game for it to fall into the ‘very entertaining’ category.

Clonakenny have been the grades standard bearers in the division and they brought a lot of experience to the final. But, they were coming up against a Moyne Tempeltuohy side with designs on silverware and a quick glance through the teamsheet suggested that they could well have the personnel to do the job. Things is, Clonakenny were in no mood to relinquish their stranglehold and had every intention of making history by being the first club in the division to win four consecutive titles.

Conditions in Pairc Shileain were perfect for this one and it didn’t take Clonakenny long to stamp their authority on proceedings - nine seconds to be precise with Jonathon Cody banging over the first score almost from the throw-in.

John Hassett had a goal chance for Moyne Templetuohy in the 2nd minute, but it went abegging having struck the upright and he was to see Bobby Bergin grabbing |Cloonakenny’s 2nd score in the 4th.

By the quarter way mark Clonakenny had opened up a 0-5 to 0-3 lead with Bergin, Nicky Ryan, Willie Ryan and John Joe Ryan all pointing, while Diarmuid Fogarty and Paul Maher (2) were on target for the opposition.

Already Willie Ryan was hurling up a storm for Clonakenny and they were throwing the ball around quite nicely - John Joe Ryan adding another point to lead by double scores 0-6 to 0-3.

Moyne Templetuohy stuck to their task and got themselves into the game with Liam Butler driving them on from centre back. They managed two pointed frees from Paul Maher and scores from Simon Everard and Diarmuid Fogarty after he had been set up by his brother Jack, to give Moyne Templetuohy the lead for the first time. The advantage didn’t last long though and a Michael John Carroll point right on the whistle left them locked at the break at 0-7 apiece - low scoring indeed.

It wasn’t to get much better in the second half on the scoring front and by the time Moyne Templetuohy had their first of the half after 15 minutes - a Paul Maher free - Clonakenny had opened up a lead - Michael John Carroll and Willie Ryan giving them the advantage. Carroll added another but saw his point cancelled by a Denis Kelly point after he came on as a sub.

Bobby Bergin struck a long range point for Clonakenny but the decisive score arrived in the 30th minute when Nicky Ryan was on the end of a Bobby Bergin effort to turn the ball into the Moyne Templetuohy net past Eddie Kelly.

The score provided the breathing space Clonakenny needed and Moyne Templetuohy suddenly required goals if they were to have a chance. They piled forward and fired everything into the square - there were 9 minutes of added time thanks to a lot of second half stoppages. But, John Costigan was a rock of strength in the Clonakenny rearguard and he saw off attack after attack with Moyne Templetuohy having to be content with Paul Maher and Simon Everard points before the end. Thing is Bobby Bergin and Nicky Ryan matches those scores to ensure Clonakenny saw out the win and claimed the silverware.

Clonakenny just seemed to be able to create chances far easier than the oppostion and in Willie Ryan, John Costigan, Michael John Carroll, Nicky Ryan and Ger Byrne they had key players.

Moyne Templetuohy were best served by John Coughlan, Liam Butler, Simon Everard, Paul Maher, and Meade brothers Pierce and Tom, and Jason Bergin.The stop/start nature of the second half porobably didn’t help Moyne Templetuohy in terms of getting into stride.

Teams: Clonakenny:S Russell, D Greed, J Costigan, N Matthews, W Ryan 0-2, G Byrne, M Ryan, P Ryan J Cody 0-1, N Ryan 1-2, C Ryan, M Costigan, MJ Carroll 0-3, B Bergin 0-4, JJ Ryan 0-1. Subs: D Crampton; W Costigan; MJ Murray.

Moyne Templetuohy:E Kelly, C Ely, J Coughlan, P Meade, R Larkin, L Butler, T Meade, N Russell, J Moloney, J Bergin, S Everard 0-2, J Fogarty, P Maher 0-6, J Hassett, D Fogarty 0-2. Subs: H Coughlan; T Hassett; D Kelly 0-1; L Everard.

Ref: T McGrath.