Dinner List Shows Growing Influence of Tipperary Peace Awards

The guestlist for the Tipperary International Peace Awards (below), reflects the growing national and international prestige with which the Tipperary Peace Conference is being held.

The guestlist for the Tipperary International Peace Awards (below), reflects the growing national and international prestige with which the Tipperary Peace Conference is being held.

First set up in Tipperary town back in 1983, the Awards have grown to such an extent that this year, it’s understood even the Swedish Academy - responsible for the Nobel Prize - sent a scout over to Ireland to check out their sister Peace Awards. The symposium is chaired by Joe Quinn, presented by Martin Quinn.

Present at the glittering gala dinner were:

Diplomatic Corps

His Excellencies and Ambassadors at Embassies of:

Mr. Robert Devriese (Belgium). Mr. Loyola Hearn (Canada). Dr. Michalis Stavrinos (Republic of Cyprus).

Mrs. Lela-alem Gebreyohannes Tedla (Federal Democratic Republic of Ethopia).

Dr. Eckhard Lübkemeier (Federal Republic of Germany). Dr. Tamás Magyarics (Republic of Hungary)

Ms. Catherine Muigai Mwangi (Republic of Kenya). Mr. Peteris Karlis Elferts (Republic of Latvia). Mr. Paramente Phamotse (Kingdom of Lesotho).

Mr. Felix Yusufu Pwol (Federal Republic of Nigeria) . Mr. Dominick John Chilcott (United Kingdom) . Ms. Hjayceelyn Quintana, (Minister and Chargée d’Affaires at the Embassy of the Republic of the Philippines)

First Citizens

Cllr. Ruaidhri Devitt, Mayor of Tipperary

Cllr. John Crosse, Cathaoirleach, South Tipperary County Council

Oireachtas & Assembly Members & Party Reps

Minister Alan Kelly, T.D., Minister of State at the Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport Mr. Tom Hayes, T.D. Mr. Seamus Healy, T.D. Senator Denis Landy Senator Labhras O’ Murchu. Mr. Seán Rogers, SDLP MLA for South Down. Mr. Eamon Ryan, Leader of the Green Party. Dr. Martin Mansergh, former T.D. & Minister of State

Security Forces

Lieutenant General Seán McCann, Chief of Staff of the Defence Forces. Chief Superintendent Kevin Dunwoody, (PSNI). Chief Superintendent Catherine Kehoe, An Garda Siochána. Superintendent Patrick Dunne, An Garda Siochána Lieutenant Commander Roberta O’Brien, The Naval Service


His Grace, Most Rev. Dermot Clifford, Archbishop of Cashel & Emly

The Right Reverend Bishop Michael Burrows, Bishop of Cashel & Ossory

Rev. Ken Lindsay, President of the Methodist Church in Ireland

Rev. John Faris, Presbyterian Church

Archdeacon Matthew McGrath, P.P., Tipperary Parish

Very Rev Dean Philip Knowles, Dean of Cashel

Fr. Gerry Reynolds CSsR., Clonard Monastery, Belfast

Fr. Brian D’Arcy, St. Gabriel’s Retreat, The Graan, Enniskillen

North/South Ministerial Council

Mr. Pat Donaghy, Deputy Joint Secretary (North), North South Ministerial Council. Mr. Sean Howlett, representing Acting Joint Secretary (South), North South Ministerial Council

N.I. Parades Commission. Mr Peter Osborne, Chair of the NI Parades Commission

Local Government

Ms. Claire Curley, Town Manager, Tipperary Town, South Tipperary County Council. Mr. Paul Murray, Town Clerk, Tipperary Town Council

Northern Ireland

Community Reps

Mr. Ian Bothwell, MBE, Crossfire Trust, Keady, Armagh. Mrs. Pauline Bothwell, Crossfire Trust. Mr. Michael Doherty, Peace & Reconciliation Group, Derry . Mrs. Rosemary Doherty, Peace & Reconciliation Group, Derry.

Rev. David J Kerr, MBE, East Belfast Mission

Mrs. Eileen Kerr, East Belfast Mission

Courts Service

Mr. Justice Nicholas Kearns, President of the High Court

National Bodies/


Mr. Peter Power, Executive Director UNICEF

Ms Christine Coman, Irish Lebanese Cultural Foundation. Mrs. Alice Leahy, TRUST. Mr. Peter Byrne, Company National President O.N.E.. Col. Harvey Bicker, OBE, The Military Heritage of Ireland Trust. Sr. Stanislaus Kennedy, Focus Ireland. Ms. Rachel Collier, Young Social Innovators

Mr. Michael Sweeney, Muintir na Tíre


Professor Riad Nourallah, Diplomatic Academy of London, University of Westminster

Ms. Anastasia Crickley, Head of Applied Social Studies at NUI Maynooth

Professor Joan Dargan, St. Lawrence University, Canton, NY

Dr. Michael Casey, Government of Ireland Post-Doctoral Fellow


Ms. Isabel Cambie, South Tipperary Development Company

Cllr. Liam Ahearne, South Tipperary Development Company

Goodwill Ambassador

Mr Khalil Abboud, Lebanon  

International Delegates

Dr Maria El Khoury, Lebanaon

Ms Rita Sfeir, Ayadina Foundation

Ms Clara Khoury, Generis Cultural Foundation


Mr. John Wort, Durlas Eile Eliogarty Memorial Committee

Mr. Andy Lacey, Tipperary Excel

Mr. Roy Galvin, Glen of Aherlow Fáilte Society

Ms. Jennifer Coleman, Canon Hayes Recreation Centre

Mrs. Betty Lynch, Tipperary Singers

Ms. Libby Carew-Eicholz, West Tipperary Mental Health Association

Mr. Tim Ryan, TIRD/Chamber of Commerce

Mr. Matthew Quinlan, Tipperary Co-operative Creamery

Peace Forum Speakers

Baroness Nuala O’Loan, former Police Ombudsman of NI

Mr. Roy Garland, Columnist and Member of the U.U.P

Senator Trevor O’Clochartaigh, Sinn Féin

Ms. Diana Buckley, Pride of Tipperary

Ms. Esme Mansergh Wallace, Miss Sunday World

Ms. Liz Howard, former President of the Camogie Assoiation

Mr. Michael Babs Keating, former GAA Player & Manager

Local Authority Delegates

Song of Peace Finalists from Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, England and the U.S.A.

School Project Winners from Thurles C.B.S., Cashel Community School & St. Anne’s Secondary School, Tipperary.