Tipp v Offaly - Big Match Stats

Previous Meetings between Tipperary and Offaly:

Championship – 3 times, Tipp won all 3 in 2002, 2003 and 2007

League – 37 times, Tipp won 29, Offaly won 6, 2 draws

Memorable Milestones

1953 – All Ireland Junior Hurling ‘Home’ Final. Tipperary 1-7, Offaly 1-2 at Birr, 13th September. Mick Kenny was the Tipperary Captain.

1966 – NHL at Birr – Offaly’s first league win over Tipperary 3-13 to 2-7, 20th November.

1971 – 19th December at Birr - Roscrea (Tipperary) beat St Rynagh’s (Offaly) in the first All-Ireland Club Final. Donie Moloney was the winning captain.

1980 – NHL at Thurles – Offaly’s first league win over Tipperary on Tipp soil, 7th December. 0-13 to 1-7.

1987 – All Ireland MHC Final at Croke Park – Offaly retain their title beating Tipperary by 2-8 to 0-12. 6th September.

1988 – NHL Final at Croke Park. Tipperary 3-15, Offaly 2-9. 24th April. Attendance was 33,000 plus.

1989 – All Ireland Under 21 Hurling Final at Portlaoise – Tipperary 4-10, Offaly 3-11. Over 30,000 spectators witnessed one of the great finals on 10th September.

1997 – John McIntyre (Lorrha) manages Offaly. They beat Tipp on 9th March in the opening round of the NHL, at Nenagh, 2-14 to 1-15.

1998 – Michael ‘Babs’ Keating manages Offaly but departs after losing the Leinster Final to Kilkenny. They subsequently ‘bond’ and after playing Clare three times they become the first county to lose a provincial decider and win the All Ireland, exacting revenge on Kilkenny.

2002 – Tipperary beat Offaly in the All Ireland Qualifier at Portlaoise on 13th July 2-19 to 1-9. Yet another Tipp man (Fr Tom Fogarty) was in charge of Offaly.

2003 – Tipperary beat Offaly in the All Ireland Quarter Final at Croke Park by 2-16 to 2-11 on 27th July.

2005-2007- John McIntyre has his second term as Offaly manager.

2007 – Tipperary beat Offaly in the All Ireland Qualifier at Semple Stadium by 2-17 to 2-13 on June 30th.

Tipp in All Ireland SHC Qualifiers, Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Finals 1997 to 2010

Played 26:Won 15 Drew 1 Lost10

2002 TIPPERARY 2-19, OFFALY 1-19

HT 2-8 to 1-6)

Saturday, July 13th 2002 at Portlaoise – Qualfier Game

Tipperary had lost to Waterford in the Munster final and were attempting to rediscover their 2001 form, when they met Offaly for the first time ever in Senior Championship Hurling. They started well and boosted by goals from Brian O’Meara and John Carroll they led by five points at half time.

Tipperary: B. Cummins; T. Costello, P. Maher, P. Ormond; E. Corcoran, D. Kennedy, P. Kelly (0-3), N. Morris,E. Enright; M. O’Leary (0-4), T. Dunne (0-2), B. Dunne (0-2); E. Kelly (0-4), J.

Carroll (1-1), B. O’Meara (1-2).

Subs: L. Cahill for B. O’Meara; E. O’Neill (0-1) for E. Kelly, B. Horgan for N. Morris; P. Curran for D. Kennedy.

Offaly: S. Byrne; M. O’Hara, J. Errity, J.P. O’Meara; Brian Whelehan, J. Brady,N. Claffey; R. Hanniffy (0-1), Barry Whelehan (0-1); G. Hanniffy, K. Martin (0-1), B. Murphy; B. Carroll (0-1), S. Brown (1-1), Simon Whelehan (0-4).

Subs: G. Oakley for Barry Whelehan, D. Murray for G. Hanniffy, Johnny Dooley for S. Brown, H. Rigney for M. O’Hara, M. Cordial for B. Carroll.

Referee: Michael Wadding (Waterford).

Attendance: 20,000.

2003: TIPPERARY 2-16, OFFALY 2-11

(HT 1-8 to 1-5)

Sunday, July 27th 2003 at Croke Park All Ireland Quarter Final

Tipp were well in control of their game and Offaly’s late scoring burst of 2-1 in the final four minutes flattered them. Brian Mullins mad some good saves for the midlanders. Ten players

scored for the winners.

Tipperary: B. Cummins; T. Costello, P. Curran, M. Maher; E. Corcoran (0-1), T. Dunne (0-3), P. Kelly (0-3); B. Dunne (0-1), E. Enright; M. O’Leary (0-1), B. O’Meara (1-0), J. Carroll (1-0); E. Kelly (0-5), C. Gleeson (0-1), L. Corbett (0-1).

Subs: D. Kennedy for T. Dunne; G. O’Grady for L. Corbett; D. Byrne for M. O’Leary; C. Morrissey for J. Carroll.

Offaly: B. Mullins; N. Claffey, G. Oakley, D. Franks; J. Brady, Brian Whelehan, C. Cassidy (0-1); M. Cordial (0-1), Barry Whelehan; C. Gath, G. Hanniffy (1-2), B. Murphy (0-2); B. Carroll (0-2), J. Errity, R. Hanniffy (0-1).

Subs: S. Brown for Barry Whelehan; S.Whelehan (0-1) for J. Errity; D. Murray for C. Gath; N. Coughlan (1-1) for S. Brown; B.Teehan for J. Brady.

Referee: Ger Harrington (Cork).

Attendance: 46,076 (played with Wexford v Antrim).


Back to the top of the page