Thurles Golf Club - Jean To Head Governing Body

This Friday night’s A.G.M. of the Governing Body at 8.30 p.m. will appoint the club’s central administrative “cabinet” for the new year. It will be a landmark occasion as far as the leading executive position is concerned. Outgoing President William O’Grady has given practical expression to the potential of the current constitutional structure of golf clubs in general by his nomination of Jean Butler a year ago as his successor for 2013.

The former Ladies Captain and more recently head of the Social Committee will assume office at the meeting, to acclamation and good wishes all round. Into the succession will step former Captain and noted competitor Seamus Troy, as Vice-President.

The five years rule will lead to a change also in the post of Hon. Secretary. Tom Ryan returned to that role, having also been both Captain and President, to give further service to the club and has now fulfilled the allotted term, our warm thanks on that account. Prominent lady golfer Marion Finn has been nominated to the post. Hon Treasurer Jack O’Keeffe will continue in that responsible office and will present the year’s Accounts after the opening statement by the President, who will chair the occasion as the final function of his position. Nominees to the Governing Body will be Michael Craddock and Evan Long, both outgoing and also recent Lady Captain Jacqueline Corbett.

In that context, the number of vacancies on the Governing Body will depend on how one of the Special Resolutions on the agenda has been dealt with, one seat available if a reduction from the current seven to a proposed five is approved, three if it is not. Also to be moved is a change from three to two as regards the quota of “senior” members of the Governing Body who must retire at every A.G.M. with eligibility for re-election. Other issues to be raised by the Governing Body include abolition of Entry Fee; adjustment of age limit for the Seniors category; deletion of composite Family Subscriptions; ten year membership to replace life-time; change in the representation from Men’s and Ladies Clubs on the Governing Body.

Closer to the immediate interest of members than these technicalities is liable to be the Ordinary Resolution which lists the Subscription proposals for the coming season. These feature some alteration to the regular and the senior fees, as well as a reduction in the number of categories. The overall situation as regards club finances will be the background to the discussion.

Actual golf has, of course, been vulnerable to the weather and course conditions over the festive period. We teed off, or didn’t, with a blank Saturday as regards competition. Sunday 23rd did allow for a 9h Singles, with the following outcome:

M. Fahey (16) 23; S. Mackey (19) 22; Ml. Doyle (13) 22. Martin’s birdie at the 15th was very useful in his win.

St. Stephen’s Say saw the team of three changed to a 9h singles on the clubhouse side. Leading cards: M. Fahy 23; K. O’Dwyer (17) 22. Thursday 27th, 9h Singles, V. O’Keeffe (16) 23; L. Hanrahan (18) 22; R. Donohoe (7) 22. A 3,4,4 finish won for Vincent over Liam and Raymond, who both ended strongly also over the last three.

Saturday 29th, team of two: Ml. Hayden (17) and A. Finn (17) 40; J. O’Mahony (6) and Wm. Maher (12) 39; J. McGrath (14) and

B. Mulcaire (13) 39. Winners Ml. and Andrew kept up recent form with a back nine of 26. Sunday fourball: P. Fallon (10) and S. Sherlock (17) 36; Ml. Doyle (13) and J. O’Riordan (17) 35; L. Mackey (14) and J. Mackey (17) 35. A final pair of three pointers did the business for Pat and Sean, with Sherlock beating par at the 18th.

Fixtures: Saturday, team of two; Sunday, fourball.


Back to the top of the page