Cashel Rosegreen GAA

The West Peil Shield Football semi-final took place on Wednesday evening last in Rosegreen, our opponents were Clonoulty/Rossmore.

Rockwell/Rosegreen started well and played a lovely brand of football, taking some excellent scores. This trend continued up to half time by which time the combo had taken a commanding lead. Clonoulty/Rossmore rallied well in the second half and scored two goals in quick succession. Rockwell/Rosegreen responded well and eventually qualified for the West Peil Shield final on a scoreline of 4-13 to 4-1. This was another good performance but there is room for improvement. Performances of note on the night came from Dean Harding, Elio Bonelli, Harry Tobin and Conor O’Brien. Rockwell /Rosegreen will now meet Emly/Treacys in the Shield final in Dundrum Wednesday night at 7pm which promises to be a close and exciting encounter. Rockwell / Rosegreen - Ashane Sanuja Wiesinghe, Andrew Moloney, Mark Downey (2-3), Charlie Costello (1-7), Tom Dowling, Harry Tobin, Dean Harding, Christopher Geraghty, Cormac Freir (1-0), Eoin McSweeney (0-1), Elio Bonelli, Mark Ryan (0-1), Fergus English (0-1), Ciaran McKenna, Brian Flavin and Conor O’Brien.

On Saturday in New Inn our hurlers lined out against Clonoulty/Rossmore in the third round of the West Féile B Hurling competition.The first half was a close affair but a goal and some good defending saw Rockwell/Rosegreen manage to take the lead at the interval by 1-3 to 0-2. Facing a stiff breeze in the second half the Rosegree/New Inn combo knew that they had to improve to ensure victory. That is exactly what they did and eventually ran out winners by 4-7 to 0-2. This was a much improved performance and great credit to all of the players for their efforts. Mark Ryan performed well in the midfield, Brian Flavin was clinical on the edge of the square, Mark Downey was as busy as ever and Diarmuid English was outstanding at corner back with Christopher Geraghty holding his own in the other corner. Rockwell/Rosegreen will meet Emly/Treacys in the next round of the hurling and hopefully the lads can build on the improved performance in this game. Rockwell/ Rosegreen - Brian Og O’Dwyer, Christopher Geraghty, Fergus English, Diarmuid English, John Marnane, Andrew Moloney, Harry Tobin (0-1), Mark Ryan (0-2), Mark Downey (0-3), Ashane Sanuja Wiesinghe, Elio Bonelli, Charlie Costello (1-1), Conor O’Brien (1-0), Brian Flavin (2-0), Eoghan McLoughlin and Kevin Cleary.


Back to the top of the page