Thurles Man First FF Countywide Chairman

A Thurles man has been chosen by the Fianna Fail organisation in County Tipperary to become it’s first County wide chairman since the constituencies of North and South Tipperary were split in 1948.

Arthur Griffin (25) from Clongour in Thurles was unanimously elected to the position as chairman of the new Tipperary Comhairle Dail Ceantair at a packed Fianna Fail EGM on Thursday at Boru Boru in Cashel.

Mr Griffin, who was the outgoing chairman of North Tipperary Comhairle Dail Ceanntair, was proposed for the position by the outgoing chairman of South Tipp CDC Mr Don Davern, who was elected to the position of executive Vice chair, while he was seconded by David Morris. The newly created CDC was formed because of the recent constituency review which meant that all of South Tipperary and almost all of North Tipperary with the exception of Lower Ormond will become one constituency at the next General Election.


Back to the top of the page