‘People of the Year’ awards 2014

Sophie Rowland, receiving  her

Sophie Rowland, receiving her "Young Person of the Year Award" from Brian Colclough (SuperValu).

Roscrea’s ‘People of the Year Awards 2014’ took place in the Abbey Hall last Tuesday evening, honouring a host of local heroes.

The award winners for the past year are: The founders and organisers of Pieta House, Ballyhall, Roscrea for a truly magnificent achievement. Cllr Michael Smith presented the award to Mairead Ramsbottom, Brian Colclough, Sponsor, Martina Leamy, Managher Pieta House. Roscrea Ramblers for their remarkable and outstanding social occasions, giving new joy to so many. Dick Conroy (Credit Union) presented the award to Joe Coughlan.

Theresa Larkin for her great community spirit and her timeless efforts, through her musical talents to raise funds for charity. Theresa received her award from Brian Redmond, and Brian Colclough (SuperValu). Frankie Bergin for a lifetime of service to Roscrea, particularly as organist at St Cronan’s RC and musical director of RMS for well over 40 years. Young Person of the Year is Sophie Rowland, Sheehane, winner of a National Child of Courage Award.The Roscrea Heritage Award (sponsored by RHS) went to Joan Murray, motivator of the annual St. Cronan’s Feast Day celebrations, prime mover of the CD, the Wonders of Roscrea and former director of Roscrea Community Choir. Des Walsh presented this award to Joan on behalf of the RHS.A special Citation was granted to Coláiste Phobal RosCré Senior Camogie Team, All-Ireland Champions, represented by Clodagh Shannahan. This was presented by Mr John Lupton. The formal presentation of the Roscrea People’s Book Collections to Roscrea Public Library was made by Reverend Brian Griffin to Joe MacGrath, Manager of North Tipperary County Council. The Roscrea People’s presentation of Book Collections to St Cronan’s Services was made by Fr Tom Corbett PP to Mr Billy Jackson. The presentation of Book Collections to Leabharlann Mhic Ghabhann at Lismackin National School was made by Adrian Hewson. Congratulations to all recipients.


Back to the top of the page