Cummins is Tipp Person of the Year 2013

The Tipperary Association Dublin has announced that former Tipperary hurling goalkeeper Brendan Cummins has been selected as Tipperary Person of the Year for 2013.

Announcing the award the President of the Tipperary Association Dublin, Liam Myles said: “By any standards Brendan Cummins has achieved the highest level of success in his intercounty hurling career wining all the major awards. He established himself as a real role model for any young person in sport with his dedication and professionalism”

Cummins started his intercounty career as a dual player representing Tipperary at minor level in both hurling and football and among his achievements are 2 All-Ireland titles, 5 All-Star Awards, 5 Munster Championship medals, 4 National league medals and 4 Railway Cup medals with Munster, captaining the winning side in 2001.

Of course the highlight was the winning of the 2001 All-Ireland and stopping the “Cats” in the drive for 5” in 2010. The great finals of 2009 and 2010 will be a sporting memory for many people – even outside of Tipperary and Kilkenny.

“Brendan’s part in those games was, as ever, top drawer. Some of course will remember the many double and treble saves of other days. Many Tipperary people will have great and fond memories of this man’s agility, coolness and assuredness. We are thankful for his contribution to the cause,” Liam said.

Liam Myles thanked Louis Fitzgerald for his generous sponsorship of the Tipperary Person of the Year Award and Diageo for sponsoring the night’s reception.

Brendan Cummins stated that “this is a fantastic award to win – especially as it comes from your own people. I am honoured to be included in the list of greats who been awarded Tipperary person of the Year in the past. It is very nice to get this at the end of a long career and I want to thank the Tipperary Association Dublin very much for selecting me. I am really looking forward to an enjoyable night on the occasion of the presentation of the awards on the 3rd of May next”.

The former General Secretary of the IFA and current Chairman of FBD Holdings, Michael Berkery from Toomevara has been chosen as the Hall of Fame winner for 2013.

The Awards banquet takes place in the Louis Fitzgerald Hotel on Saturday May 3rd.




Back to the top of the page