Ballina and Terryglass Feature In Tidy Towns Awards

This year’s SuperValu TidyTowns awards for the Mid West region were presented on Thursday last at a prize-giving ceremony in the Old Ground Hotel, Ennis.

The winners were presented with their awards by Ms. Jan O’Sullivan T.D., Minister of State at the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government and Leonard Fay, Regional Manager with SuperValu, proud sponsors of the competition. Also joining the Minister on stage was Mr John King of Shannon Development.

The overall winner for the region is Ennis, Co Clare. Ennis had already captured the title of Ireland’s Tidiest Large Urban Centre at the National Awards ceremony in September. Gold Medal winners in the region were Ennis, Ballynacally and Kilrush, Co. Clare, Adare, Co. Limerick and Birdhill, Co. Tipperary. This years Silver Medal winners were Terryglass, Co. Tipperary and Mountshannon Co. Clare. Bronze Medals were won by Ardpatrick and Newcastle West, Co Limerick, Ballina, Co. Tipperary and Kilkee and Tuamgraney, Co. Clare. The County winners for the Mid West Region are Ennis, Co. Clare, Adare, Co. Limerick and Birdhill, in Tipperary North.

Full story in this week’s Tipperary Star.


Back to the top of the page