Tipperary farmers in National Dairy Council awards finals

Three Tipperary farmers have been selected among the 15 chosen to contest this year’s National Dairy Council / Kerrygold Quality Milk Awards.

The national competition, known as the “Sam Maguire of farming”, sets out to identity and reward top dairy farmers.

Dairy co-operatives throughout the country initially nominate their best dairy farmers for the national awards, with top farmers who are leaders in their own field often representing a supplier base of hundreds of farmers.

The three Tipperary farmers are: Michael Crowe, Parkroe, Cappawhite, representing Tipperary Co-op; Edmund & Thomas Dwan, Bohernamona, Thurles, representing Centenary Thurles Co-op, and Eoin Toohey, Cullenmaine, Cloughjordan, representing Arrabawn Co-op.

The top dairy farmer is due to be announced in mid-October along with the national results. The winner will receive a prize of €5,000 and the NDC and Kerrygold Quality Milk Awards perpetual trophy.


Back to the top of the page