Tipperary Author Wins “Best Newcomer” Award

Tipperary writer Donal Ryan was named a winner at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2012 which took place on Thursday last in the RDS, Dublin

Donal Ryan’s debut novel, ‘The Spinning Heart’ was awarded the ‘Sunday Independent Best Newcomer of the Year’ category. Ryan was born in North Tipperary and wrote ‘The Spinning Heart’ in the long summer evenings of 2010. He has just completed his second novel and currently lives with his family just outside Limerick City.

The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards took place in the RDS, Dublin and were hosted by RTE’s Claire Byrne. Over 50 Irish authors gathered with 350 guests to celebrate the best of Irish literature published in the last year. Among those in attendance were: Olympic star Katie Taylor, novelists Edna O’ Brien, Jennifer Johnston, Joseph O’ Connor, Keith Ridgeway and David Park, Senator David Norris, hurling star Lar Corbett, comedian Maeve Higgins, children’s author Derek Landy, and Cecelia Ahern.

This is the seventh year of the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards’, which are dedicated to honouring Irish writers across the entire publishing spectrum. The public were asked to vote for their favourite titles in the shortlist for each category and over 42, 000 votes were cast this year.

From Friday 23 November, the public can vote for their overall ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ by going to www.irishbookawards.ie. Voting is open until December 14th and the winner will be announced on Monday 17th December. Last year’s winner was Belinda McKeon for her debut novel, Solace.


Back to the top of the page